Free Delivery on Orders Above $120

Select Category

General Wellness

The Breaking Point

By NATURA Magazine.

Bone health goes into a decline after the age of 20, thus increasing the risk of osteoporosis later in life. How can TCM help?

Our skeleton is constantly losing old bones and forming new ones throughout our lifetime. During the childhood to teenage years, for example, new bone is formed faster than old bone is lost. However, what happens when you start to lose more bone than you can form? That’s when a condition known as ‘osteoporosis’ occurs.

THE SILENT EPIDEMIC

Osteoporosis is nicknamed the ‘Silent Epidemic’ because, in the early stages of the condition, it’s difficult to tell that anything is amiss. This is due to the fact that, even though weakened bones are more prone to fractures, it tends not to show any telltale signs for a very long time. Certain people with osteoporosis may suffer from spinal compression fractures, resulting in loss of height with a stooped back known as a ‘dowager’s hump.’

For others, fractures occur more easily. As agonising as it may be, some people dismiss a broken bone as a broken bone with no cause for alarm. However, individuals who sustain fractures have a higher risk of dying from causes such as pneumonia and urinary tract infection in the five years after the fracture compared to non-fracture cases, according to a recent study by the NUS Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health.

Associate Professor Gerald Koh, who led the study, explains, “When you’re not so mobile, you tend to retain urine, which then provides opportunity for bacteria to multiply exponentially and increases the risk of urinary tract infection.” He adds that other patients who are lying immobile for a long time because they’re waiting for their wound to heal may develop other complications, such as chest infections.

WHO SHOULD WORRY?

Some people can withstand a more rapid loss than others. Over the last 30 years in Singapore, cases of hip fractures have increased five times in women aged 50 and above but just 1.5 times in men of the same age group, according to the Health Promotion Board.

What explains the drastic difference between the genders? The answer, according to experts, is menopause.

Before menopause, the female body uses oestrogen to protect the bones. Within five to seven years after menopause, oestrogen production will fall drastically, leading to bone loss in women of up to 20% and, as a result, an increase in the risk of fractures. But Men should not take osteoporosis lightly, either. Habits such as excessive alcohol intake, smoking or extreme thinness can decrease the level of such hormones in the body, resulting in bone loss.

Physician Lin Jiayi, a traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) expert from the Eu Yan Sang clinic at Plaza Singapura, reveals that people who are already suffering from diseases such as diabetes, kidney problems, chronic enteritis and hyperthyroidism are also more prone to osteoporosis.

CALLING FOR REINFORCEMENTS

Prevention is better than cure, and nowhere else does this ring truer than with osteoporosis.

According to the Mayo Clinic, men and women between the ages of 18 and 50 need about 1,000mg of calcium a day. This daily amount increases to 1,200mg when women hit menopause and when men turn 70. The clinic also highly recommends Vitamin D, which promotes calcium absorption. Although exercising helps by making your bones ‘hungry’ for calcium and facilitates better absorption, note that not all physical activities are good for people with weakened bones. Physician Lin suggests activities such as taiji, slow walking, jogging and even dancing.

As for treatments, the focus should be on medication and acupuncture, recommends Physician Lin. According to TCM principles, people with weakened bones can be helped by boosting their blood circulation and kidney function. Not only will this strengthen the bones and improve calcium absorption by regulating the marrow, muscles and blood, it will even go a step further by improving the flow of qi throughout the entire body.


Photo courtesy of Thinkstock. This article first appeared in NATURA magazine issue No.9. Find NATURA at Eu Yan Sang retail outlets, newsstands and major bookstores in Singapore.

Related Products

Related Articles

购物下午三点之前可享有当天配送服务*

选择类别

一般健康

转折点

由 NATURA Magazine.

人们的骨骼健康一般会在20岁以后开始走下坡,增加日后罹患骨质疏松症的风险。中医能够在这方面提供哪些帮助?

人的一生骨质会不断地变化,旧骨不断被吸收,新骨不断形成。从孩童时期到青少年时期,新骨的形成速度会快过旧骨吸收的速度。但是,一旦旧骨吸收的速度快过新骨的形成速度,将发生什么事呢?这就是一种名为‘骨质疏松症’的病症。

沉默的病症

骨质疏松症有‘沉默的病症’之称,这是因为这种疾病在发展初期没有任何症状,难以察觉。其原因在于虽然脆弱的骨骼发生骨折的机率较高,但其切实的迹象却需要很长时间才会显现。某些患有骨质疏松症的人会因脊椎压迫性骨折而出现驼背及身高变矮的症状,也就是所谓的‘贵妇驼’。

其他人则是发生骨折的机率较高。麻烦的是,有些人并未将骨折视为值得警惕的事。然而,根据新加坡国立大学苏瑞福公共卫生学院近期的一份研究显示,相比未发生骨折的人士,发生骨折者在骨折后五年内死于肺炎和尿道感染等病症的风险更高。

领导该研究进行的Gerald Koh副教授解释:“当你行动不良时,会容易憋尿,从而增加细菌生长繁殖的机会及发生尿道炎的风险。
”他并补充说,其他因为必须等待伤口癒合而长期卧病在床的患者也可能出现如胸腔感染等其他并发症。

哪些人应该担心?

有些人骨质流失的速度比其他人快。根据新加坡保健促进局的报告显示,过去30年间,新加坡50岁以上女性发生髋骨骨折的案例增加了5倍,但同年龄段男性的发生案例只增加了1.5倍。

造成两性间如此大差距的原因是什么?专家表示,原因在于更年期。

更年期前,女性体内的雌激素可保护骨骼。进入更年期的五到七年内,雌激素的分泌会急遽下降,使女性身体流失多达20%的骨质,导致骨折风险大为增加。但男性也不应轻忽骨质疏松症。如过量饮酒、抽烟等习惯或过瘦,都会使男性体内的激素减少,进而造成骨质流失。

余仁生中医健康管理诊所@多美歌(狮城大厦)的中医师林佳仪表示,患有糖尿病、肾脏病、慢性肠炎和甲状腺机能亢进症的人士也比较容易患上骨质疏松症。

治疗方法

“预防胜于治疗”是防治骨质疏松症的最重要原则。

根据美国 Mayo Clinic 的研究,年龄介于 18 至 50 岁的男性和女性一天需要摄取约 1000 毫克的钙质。当女性进入更年期,而男性到达 70 岁时,需要的钙质则增加至 1200 毫克。Mayo Clinic也强烈建议人们应补充可促进钙质吸收的维生素 D。虽然运动可增加骨骼对钙质的‘渴望’,并促进钙质吸收,但并不是所有运动都适合骨骼脆弱的人。林医师建议应从事如太极、慢走、慢跑,甚至跳舞等运动。

治疗方面的重点则应放在针灸和药物治疗上,林医师建议。根据中医理论,促进血液循环及增强肾脏功能可为骨质脆弱的人带来助益。骨髓、肌肉和血液的调节不仅能够增强骨质并促进钙质吸收,还能进一步改善体内气的流动。


图片由 Thinkstock 提供。本文章原载于 NATURA 杂志第九期。NATURA 杂志可在新加坡的余仁生零售店、报摊和主要书店中购得。

相关产品

相关文章