Order Before 9am for Same Day Delivery*

Track My Order
Select Category

Food & Recipes

6 herbs that boost overall health

By NATURA Magazine.

1. Apricot Seeds

TCM practitioners use apricot seeds to treat respiratory symptoms such as asthma, bronchitis, wheezing and persistent coughing. The seeds are also known to encourage bowel movements, thus improving intestinal health. Note that they should never be eaten raw: they contain traces of hydrogen cyanide, a poison. Using it in a soup, as in this case, is perfectly safe, as the toxin is completely hydrolysed in the cooking process.

2. Tangerine Peels

Bitter yet fragrant, tangerine peel is often used in stews, soups, desserts, marinades, teas and even snacks. The peel, with anti-viral and anti-bacterial properties, can help relieve a wet and persistent cough due to excessive phlegm in the lungs. It is used in this particular dish to give it a distinct taste that stays in your mouth long after you’ve scooped the last spoonful.

3. American Ginseng

In TCM, American Ginseng is used to treat many ailments. It’s well-known for boosting the immune system, and is prescribed for flu or cold. In the wider medical community, the herb has been used to regulate the central nervous and circulatory systems. As a culinary ingredient, it has a sweet and slightly warm taste, with an aroma that’s said to relieve stress when breathed in!

4. Notoginseng Root

TCM practitioners use this herb to treat blood-related problems, from blood stasis and deficiency to profuse bleeding. A powdered form was rumoured to have been carried by Vietnamese soldiers during the Vietnam War. With its sweet and slightly bitter taste, notoginseng root is popular as a flavouring ingredient in Chinese cuisine.

5. Salvia Root

Salvia root, or dan shen, is used to treat heart-, liver- and kidney-related ailments. It can only be found 90–1,200m above sea level in China and Japan, but harvesting this herb is worthwhile as research has shown that it has the ability to reduce vascular resistance. This means that when it comes to getting rid of clots and breaking up blood stasis, salvia root is a must-have.

6. Bird's Nest

Bird’s nest is one of the best-known miracle foods in TCM. Aside from its benefits to the skin and child development, it is especially good for the lungs, helping to alleviate conditions such as phlegm collection and chronic dry coughs. For the elderly, adding some it to soups will ease most respiratory-related ailments and even boost their appetite in the long run.

 


This article first appeared in NATURA magazine issue No.9.

Related Products

Related Articles

购物下午三点之前可享有当天配送服务*

包裹运输状况信息
选择类别

食物与食谱

对身体保健有益的六种中药材

由 发表于 NATURA 杂志。.

1.杏仁

中医师常使用杏仁来治疗如气喘、支气管炎、哮鸣和咳嗽不止等呼吸症状。杏仁还具有促进排便及改善肠道健康的功效。请注意:杏仁绝不可生吃,因为生的杏仁中含有一种称为氢氰酸(hydrogen cyanide)的有毒物质。在汤品中使用杏仁(如本例)是绝对安全的,因为这种毒性会在烹煮过程中完全水解。

2.陈皮

香气浓郁但略带苦味的陈皮经常用于各种炖品、汤品、甜品、醃料、茶品和甚至零食中。陈皮的抗病毒和抗菌特性可缓解因肺部痰多而造成的持续湿咳症状。这道菜特别使用陈皮来增添香气,令您在吃完后依然齿颊留香。

3.花旗参

中医常使用花旗参来治疗许多病症。众所周知,花旗参具有增强免疫系统的功效,是中医师用来治疗流感或感冒的良方。此外,花旗参还广泛应用于调节中枢神经和循环系统等医疗领域。用于料理上,它是一味甘而微温的食材,所散发的香气据说还有纾压的效果!

4.田七

中医师常使用田七来治疗如血瘀和血崩等血液相关问题。传言田七粉是越战时期越南士兵身上一定会随身携带的物品。味甘微苦的田七是中华料理中常见的调味材料。

5.丹参

丹参用于治疗心脏、肝脏和肾脏相关病症。丹参只生长在中国及日本海拔高度 90 至 1200 米的地方,并具有很高的药用价值;研究显示,丹参能够预防血管阻力。这也就是说,在活血化瘀的药方中,丹参是不可欠缺的一味药材。

6.燕窝

燕窝是中药界最享负盛名的神奇食材之一。除了对皮肤和儿童发育十分有益外,燕窝也具有很好的润肺效果,能够化痰止干咳。在年长者的汤食中加入一些燕窝,将能够减轻呼吸相关症状,长期食用甚至具有增进食欲的效果。

 


本文章原载于 NATURA 杂志第九期。

相关产品

相关文章