Order Before 3pm for Same Day Delivery*

Track My Order
Select Category

Sleep & Vitality

Having Difficulty Falling Asleep?

By NATURA Magazine.

Insomnia refers to difficulty falling asleep, waking up frequently during the night, or the inability to sleep soundly. Short-term insomnia may be caused by jet lag and stress, but chronic insomnia is usually associated with underlying psychiatric conditions such as depression, explains Choey. Other conditions include primary sleep disorders like apnoea (cessation of airflow during sleep), physical conditions like malnutrition, or emotional problems like grief.

TCM, however, also looks into the concept of ‘root and branch’. Zhong describes insomnia as the branches of a disease. The root is a dysfunction or imbalance of the fundamental substances (qi, blood, yin, yang, jing, shen), or of the major organ systems (lungs, heart, spleen, liver, kidneys).

Balekundri notes that insomnia also tends to be more common among women than men. This is partly due to the hormonal changes intrinsic to females, such as PMS, menstruation, pregnancy and menopause.

Symptoms

Besides problems like poor concentration and memory, irritability and impaired social interaction, there are different types of insomnia with different symptoms. “For instance, tension insomnia is common among executives who worry about work or business. Fatigue insomnia happens when she gets tired during the day and naps in the early afternoon, then cannot fall asleep at bedtime. A patient who has in-discomfort insomnia often complains of stomach upsets, toothache and arthritis that cause her to wake up during the night. In-and-out insomnia occurs when she only stayed in the first stage of light sleep and woke up frequently throughout the night,” lists Balekundri.

A TCM practitioner will also look out for symptoms that are characteristic of a particular disorder. “For example, people with the Liver Fire pattern get angry easily and show ‘heat’ signs such as a red face, dark yellow urine and dry bowel movements; people with spleen or heart deficiency tend to be forgetful, have poor concentration and appetite, tire easily, and are always worrying about something,” explains Zhong.

Treatment

Western Medicine: Removing the underlying cause or precipitating factors will usually cure transient or acute insomnia. Sedative drugs may be used, but Choey cautions against long-term use. “Maintaining good sleep habits is essential; regular exercise, avoiding caffeinated beverages and alcohol in the evening, keeping to a regular sleep and awakening schedule, and going to bed with a contented stomach all help,” adds Choey.

Traditional Chinese Medicine: Different types of insomnia point to problems in different parts of the body. For example if you suffer from nightmares that keep you awake, this indicates a gall bladder meridian disorder; difficulty in falling asleep could point to an excess condition of the liver, or liver and gall.

 


Photo courtesy of Thinkstock. This article first appeared in NATURA magazine issue No.1. Find NATURA at Eu Yan Sang retail outlets, newsstands and major bookstores in Singapore.

 

Related Products

Related Articles

购物下午三点之前可享有当天配送服务*

包裹运输状况信息
选择类别

睡眠与活力

难以入睡吗?

由 NATURA Magazine.

失眠是指难以入睡,夜间频繁醒来或无法沉睡的状况。短期失眠可能是时差和压力引起的,但慢性失眠则通常与精神问题(如忧郁症)有关,徐医生表示。造成慢性失眠的原因还包括原发性睡眠障碍症(如睡眠呼吸暂停症)、身体状况(如营养不良)或情绪问题(如悲伤)。

但中医在治疗失眠时还融入了‘标和本’的概念。钟医师表示失眠是身体病症的标。本是人体基本元素(气、血、阴、阳、精、神)或主要器官系统(肺、心、脾、肝、肾)机能不良或失衡。

Balekundri 表示,女性发生失眠的机率高于男性。这部分是由女性的荷尔蒙变化引起的,如经前症候群、绝经、怀孕和更年期。

症状

除了注意力不集中、记忆力欠佳、暴躁易怒和社交互动障碍等问题外,不同类型的失眠也会表现出不同的症状。Balekundri 指出:“例如,紧张型失眠是常见于担心工作或业绩的高层主管的病症。疲劳型失眠发生于因为白天很累所以中午睡了午觉,而导致晚上睡不着的情况。不适型失眠的患者常抱怨胃部不适、牙痛和关节痛导致夜间无法成眠。进进出出型失眠发生于一直保持在浅眠阶段,并且整晚经常醒来的情况”。

中医师还会从失眠者身上寻找特定病症的蛛丝马迹。“例如,肝火旺的人有易怒及诸如面红、小便暗黄和大便干结等‘热’症;心脾虚的人易有健忘、注意力不集中、食欲不佳、容易疲倦和忧虑紧张的症状,”钟医师解释。

治疗

西医:消除造成失眠的原因或激发因素对治疗暂时性或急性失眠通常有效。此外,亦可服用镇定剂。但徐医生警告勿长期服用。“保持良好的睡眠习惯很重要;定期运动、避免在傍晚时饮用含咖啡因和酒精的饮料、保持规律作息时间和不要空腹上床等作法也都有帮助,”徐医生补充。

中医:不同类型的失眠代表身体不同部位的问题。例如,如果你常因作恶梦而无法成眠,代表你有胆经的问题;难以入睡则可能是肝或肝胆火气过盛所造成的。


图片由 Thinkstock 提供。本文章原载于 NATURA 杂志第一期。NATURA 杂志可在新加坡的余仁生零售店、报摊和主要书店中购得。

 

相关产品

相关文章