Order Before 3pm for Same Day Shipping*

Select Category

Food & Recipes

Liquid Diets

By NATURA Magazine.

It’s hard to go wrong with soup.

It’s one of the greatest comfort food on a rainy day. Its addition to your order at a Western diner usually makes for a value-for-money set meal. Even bootleg copies of Andy Warhol’s Campbell’s soup cans impart to any café the illusion of style.

But the usefulness of soup was derailed in the 1990s with the emergence of the Cabbage Soup diet. That fad, which was propagated via the Internet, involved cabbage as a major ingredient and promised weight loss of up to 10 pounds after only slurping on the soup for seven days. While cabbage is certainly a great source of fibre, this infamous soup diet proved detrimental in its ultra-restrictive low-calorie practice. Besides, why stick with only cabbage soup and the hit-and-miss culinary wisdom of the Internet?

Cultures all around the world have been making healthy soups that have stood the test of time. Passing from the age of primitive cauldrons to the time of modern crockpots, here are some highly nourishing soups that have fed generations before you:

Winter Melon Soup

Origin: China
Ingredients: chicken, winter melon, red dates

Traditional Chinese tonic soups can be delicious, and the winter melon soup is highly thought of in TCM. A popular and ‘cooling’ soup to serve in the summer, it dissipates internal heat and aids in digestion. Also known as the ash gourd, the winter melon eliminates phlegm and mucus, and can soothe a sore throat.

The soup is prepared by simmering it under aslow fire for hours, which retains the moisturizing and nourishing properties of its ingredients. The method also draws the nutrients out into the soup for easier absorption by the body.

The role of soup in Chinese cuisine stretches back centuries, but how and when this dish made it to the imperial menu or the kitchens of modern commoners remain a mystery. What we do know is that ‘slow-fire’ tonics come from Guangdong province and are mainstays in Cantonese cuisine.

Borscht Soup

Origin: Ukraine
Ingredients: beetroot, other vegetables

If it’s good enough for generations of Ukrainian peasants, it’s good enough for today’s keyboard warriors. The national dish of Ukraine, borscht’s frightening red hue comes from its main ingredient, the beetroot.

“Beetroots are highly nutritious,” notes Ms Jaclyn Reutens, a dietician at Aptima Nutrition & Sports Consultants in Singapore. “They are great for individuals who have hypertension, want to lose weight, or anyone who wants to have a healthy diet.”

They contain nitrates, which lowers the risk of cardiovascular disease. In the body, nitrates turn into nitrites, which increase blood flow and oxygen to the brain, thus slowing the progress of dementia in older folks.

One theory on borscht’s origin posits that it was initially made from hogweed, known as borshchevik in old Slavic. Over the years, that ingredient was dropped while the name of the broth was shortened. Today, the Russians, Ukrainians and Poles all lay claim to the soup, which only adds to the soup’s murky—and contentious—history.

Chicken Soup

Origin: Jewish
Ingredients: chicken bone, carrots, onions

Chicken soup is often exalted in the West as an effective home remedy against the flu. It is believed to ease runny noses, clear nasal congestion and sooth sore throats.

“Much of the immune system is in the body’s gut lining,” says Ms Pooja Vig, nutritionist and co-founder of The Nutrition Clinic in Singapore. “The gelatin in the main component of chicken soup, bone broth, protects and heals the lining of the digestive tract and helps in the digestion of nutrients. A 2010 study published in the journal Chest shows that eating chicken soup during a respiratory infection does in fact help to reduce symptoms of a cold.”

Chicken soup works miracles in other areas, too. “Bone broth is naturally rich in glucosamine, which helps repair damaged joints and reduces pain and inflammation. The gelatin and collagen in bone broth is also fantastic for hair, nails and skin,” Pooja adds.

Restorative chicken soup dates back to centuries old Jewish cooking traditions. It was Moses Maimonides, a 12th-century rabbi, physician and leader of the Jewish community in Egypt, who first recommended the soothing broth for respiratory tract symptoms. Today, the soup is nicknamed ‘Jewish penicillin’ because of its supposed curative powers.

Miso Soup

Origin: Japan
Ingredients: miso paste, tofu, spring onions

The Japanese have made miso soup a staple of their meals for centuries.

It is made up of mainly miso paste. An enzyme-rich and probiotic food, miso, or fermented soybean paste, adds a dose of friendly microorganisms to your digestive system and detoxifies the body. Interestingly, the cleansing power of miso soup even extends to washing out smoking pipes during the days of the Edo period in Japan. In addition, antioxidants in the paste, such as Vitamin E and saponins, protect against free radicals and offer an anti-ageing effect.

“While miso soup is low in fat, it is relatively high in sodium, which is not ideal for those who have high blood pressure,” warns Reutens. “Because of its high sodium content, miso soup should be drunk in controlled amounts.”

Due to soy isoflavons, miso is widely claimed to be a preventative cancer food. According to Reutens, these isoflavons can protect against breast cancer and lower cholesterol levels. A 2007 study by Japan’s National Cancer Centre looked at the eating habits of 43,509 men, where miso soup emerged as one of the most popular foods. It found that those who ate more isoflavone-rich foods had a 50% lower risk of developing localised prostate cancer compared to those who ate the least.

While miso certainly has an array of health benefits and may aid in achieving Okinawan levels of longevity, research on miso’s anti-cancer benefits is still ongoing. Its other health benefits, however, make it worth serving at the dinner table regularly.

Despite its reputation as a classic Japanese dish, the origins of miso lie in China. Scholars haven’t been able to pinpoint quite when miso was imported to Japan, but one school of thought believes that seventh-century Buddhist missionaries brought over soy-based foodstuff that eventually developed into the miso that dominates dining tables in the Land of the Rising Sun today.

 

Photo courtesy of Thinkstock. This article first appeared in NATURA magazine issue No.8. Find NATURA at Eu Yan Sang retail outlets, newsstands and major bookstores in Singapore.

Related Articles

购物下午三点之前可享有当天配送服务*

选择类别

食物与食谱

健康汤品

由 NATURA Magazine.

汤品是最不容易出错的一款饮食。

在雨天时喝下一碗汤是最享受的一件事。在西餐中,汤品通常是附加的一道菜,是为了让套餐看起来物有所值的餐点。就连安迪·沃霍尔(Andy Warhol)的金宝汤罐头画作的盗版品也能为咖啡厅营造出不凡的格调。

但到了20世纪初,汤品的用处随着白菜减肥汤的兴起而产生了颠覆性的改变。这股通过互联网扩散的饮食风潮,把白菜当成主要的食材,并保证连续饮用这道汤七天后可减重高达 10 磅。虽然白菜是很好的纤维摄取来源,但这道恶名昭彰的减肥汤却因其过于严格的热量限制而被证明是对健康有害的。而且,我们何必只把眼光局限在白菜汤和网络上那些不靠谱的饮食智慧上呢?

各界各地的文化造就了许多经得起时间考验的健康汤品。经过从原始大锅到现代慢炖锅的时代更迭,一些具有高营养价值并且已经喂养了好几世代人类的汤品至今依然广为流传:

冬瓜汤

起源地:中国
食材:鸡肉、冬瓜、红枣

中国传统补汤多很美味,而这道冬瓜汤更被中医认为具有很高的营养价值。冬瓜汤是夏天很受欢迎的一道‘凉补’汤品,具有清内火及帮助消化的功效。冬瓜能够消除痰液鼻涕及舒缓喉咙痛。

冬瓜汤必须以小火慢炖数小时,以保留其食材滋补的本质。此方法还能够使营养溶解入汤中,更容易让人体吸收。

汤品在中国饮食文化中的角色可回溯至数百年前,但它是如何以及于何时成为古代帝王膳食的一部分,或跃上现代平民老百姓家中的厨房,依然是个谜。我们只知道‘慢火’煨制的补汤源自中国广东省,并且是粤菜料理的精髓。

罗宋汤

起源地:乌克兰
食材:甜菜根、其他蔬菜

如果这道菜足以填饱世世代代乌克兰农民的胃口,那么它也绝对能够填饱现代“键盘战士们”的脾胃。罗宋汤是乌克兰的国菜,它令人觉得恐怖的鲜红色泽来自于它的主要食材――甜菜根。

新加坡 Aptima Nutrition & Sports Consultants 公司的营养师 Jaclyn Reutens 指出:“甜菜根含有丰富营养成份”。“它对患有高血压、想要减重或想要拥有健康饮食的人士而言,是很好的食材。”

甜菜根当中含有的硝酸盐可降低心血管疾病的风险。硝酸盐会在人体内转化为亚硝酸盐,可增加流往脑部的血液和氧,因而能减缓老人失智症的进展。

关于罗宋汤的起源有一说是使用豕草(古斯拉夫文称为 borshchevik)煮成的汤。多年后,原本使用的豕草已被取代,但其名字则被精简保留了下来。如今,俄罗斯人、乌克兰人和波兰人都宣称这道汤品起源于他们国家,这使这道汤品的历史渊源变得更加扑朔迷离。

鸡汤

起源地:犹太
食材:鸡骨、胡萝卜、洋葱

鸡汤是西方人常用来对抗流感的居家良方。他们相信鸡汤具有制止流鼻水、消除鼻塞及减轻喉咙痛的效果。

“人体免疫系统的绝大部分都在肠道里,”新加坡 The Nutrition Clinic 的营养师暨共同创办人 Pooja Vig 女士说。“鸡汤的主要成份―大骨汤―中的明胶能够保护及修复消化道黏膜,帮助养分的消化。一份在 2010 年发表于  期刊的研究显示,在呼吸道感染期间喝鸡汤确实有助减缓感冒的症状。”

鸡汤也其他方面也有神效。Pooja 补充:“大骨汤含有丰富的葡萄糖胺,能够修复受损关节并减轻疼痛和发炎症状。大骨汤中的明胶和胶原蛋白也对毛发、指甲和皮肤很有好处” 。

鸡汤的起源可回溯至数百年前,是犹太人祖先的传统菜色。十二世紀的猶太法学家、醫師暨埃及犹太民族领袖迈蒙尼德是第一位建议饮用鸡汤来舒缓呼吸道症状的人。如今,这道汤品已因其治疗效果而获得‘犹太人的盘尼西林’的美名。

味噌汤

起源地:日本
食材:味噌酱、豆腐、大葱

味噌汤是日本人流传数百年的家常汤品。

这道汤品的主要成份是味噌酱。味噌是一种发酵豆酱,含有丰富的酶元素和益生菌,能为消化系统增添有益微生物并帮助排除体内毒素。有趣的是,味噌汤的清洁力在日本江户时代甚至还被应用在烟囱的清洁上。此外,味噌酱中的抗氧化物,如维生素 E 和皂素,还能够防止自由基形成并具有抗老的作用。

Reutens 警告:“虽然味噌汤的脂肪含量很低,但钠含量却相对偏高,对高血压患者并非理想的食物”。“由于钠含量偏高,因此喝味噌汤的时候必须有节制。”

味噌中所含的大豆异黄酮使其成为广为人知的抗癌食物。Reutens 表示,大豆异黄酮具有预防乳癌及降低胆固醇的功效。一项在 2007 年由日本国家癌症中心针对 43509 位男性进行的饮食习惯研究显示,味噌汤已成为最受欢迎的食物之一。该研究发现食用较多富含异黄酮的食物的人,罹患前列腺癌的风险比食用很少富含异黄酮的食物的人低 50%。

虽然味噌已有许多已知的健康好处,并且是众所周知的冲绳人长寿秘诀之一,但针对味噌的抗癌效果的研究仍在持续进行。味噌汤拥有的健康益处,已使它成为餐桌上常备的食物。

虽然味噌是日本具代表性的食品,但它的起源地却是中国。虽然学者无法明确指出味噌于何时传入日本,但有一门学派认为是在十七世纪时,由佛教教徒将这种以大豆为基础的食物带入日本,然后最终演变成这个国度餐桌上不可或缺的美味佳肴。


图片由 Thinkstock 提供。本文章原载于 NATURA 杂志第八期。NATURA 杂志可在新加坡的余仁生零售店、报摊和主要书店中购得。

相关文章